Withdrawal Agreement How Did My Mp Vote

Following the success of the First Amendment Letwin, indicative votes were held on 27 March on the Brexit options favoured by Parliament. Eight proposals were voted on, eight of which failed. The reoriented House of Commons is very different from the one that voted for the withdrawal agreement in October. It was also noted that Holby City Episode A Simple Lie Part 1 on BBC One was delayed for a week to cover the vote. If the British Parliament voted against the agreement, the government would have to present an alternative, a „Plan B”. [66] As a result, Grieve has tabled an amendment to the business request that deals with the procedure if Parliament votes against the agreement. [67] Former Prime Minister Theresa May is now in deep contact with her former leader, Julian Smith. They probably remember the fun that happened when their withdrawal treaty was hammered at every vote earlier this year. They may have wanted to abstain or have constituency or departmental matters.

The spokesman and his deputies cannot vote, and Sinn Fein members do not traditionally vote. On September 3, Oliver Letwin filed an emergency request for debate on this bill, pursuant to Permanent Order 24. This proposal, to allow the debate for the next day, was adopted at 328 against 301. [120] [121] 21 Conservative MPs voted in favour of the motion, then were removed from the Conservative whip and rejected for future elections, as Johnson had threatened him in advance. The 21 MPs were Guto Bebb, Richard Benyon, Steve Brine, Alastair Burt, Greg Clark, Ken Clarke, David Gauke, Justine Greening, Dominic Grieve, Sam Gyimah, Phillip Hammond, Stephen Hammond, Richard Harrington, Margot James, Letwin, Anne Milton, Caroline Nokes, Antoinette Sandbach, Nicholas Sosame, Rory Stewart and Ed Vaizey. With Phillip Lee`s departure to the Liberal Democrats the day before, this gave the opposition a 43-seat majority over the government. In the evening, Grieve`s amendment was passed by 309 votes to 305 , a majority of 4,[18] [26] was a defeat for the government. [27] Twelve Conservative MPs voted against the government: Grieve, Soubry, Heidi Allen, Kenneth Clarke, Jonathan Djanogly, Stephen Hammond, Oliver Heald, Nicky Morgan, Bob Neill, Antoinette Sandbach, John Stevenson and Sarah Wollaston. A month earlier, everyone except Stevenson made the front page of the Daily Telegraph, with Conservative MPs Vicky Ford, Jeremy Lefroy, Paul Masterton and Tom Tugendhat calling them „The Brexit Mutineers.” [29] Please note a brief explanation of today`s vote on the withdrawal agreement: pic.twitter.com/vkyG4wpTBw „request for withdrawal from the European Union”, a request on behalf of a Minister of the Crown under Section 13, paragraph 1, point b), of the European Union Withdrawal Act (Withdrawal Act 2018); and „assigned day,” a day when the first government activity is the request to withdraw from the European Union.